A PIECE OF MY HEART

FOR ALL THOSE LOVE STORIES THAT PROBABLY DESERVED A BETTER ENDING.

 

My heart was racing as

tiny sweat beads trickled down

I was beyond ecstatic

thinking about this person I’d found.

 

Flirtatious messages

complete with hearts and kisses

Stolen glances and silent nudges

slowly we put together the pieces.

 

Then one starry night,

the bliss was all mine

A blush and a ‘yes’ later

began something divine.

 

You became my confidant,

doubled up as a partner in crime

A best friend before anything else

together we stood the test of time.

 

Our secret getaways

were rather adventurous I’d say

Spontaneous, audacious, crazy days

were far from all things cliché.

 

United by affection

divided by rituals

unfazed by the latter

only love remained residual.

 

We made memories and

built castles in the air

Only to see them crumble

into heartache and despair.

 

My heart shattered into pieces

emotions went black and blue

one chunk remained to be unfound

and my world turned askew.

 

Has it crawled its way to you?

Cause I’m not ready to bid adieu

If you find it, preserve it

Cause a piece of me yearns to be with you.

9 thoughts on “A PIECE OF MY HEART

Leave a Reply

